Hallmark Accreditation

What is it?

Hallmark is a free and nationally recognised quality assurance scheme designed for community buildings.  It aims to:

  • support, establish and reward good practice
  • encourage improvement in established customs and procedures
  • obtain recognition from other bodies for the standard of management of community buildings

How Hallmark works:

Any village or community hall is eligible to apply for a Hallmark award. Hallmark uses a system of trained peer visitors who use standardised checksheets to assess performance and provide an external validation of achievement. The peer visitor is overseen by the Village Hall Adviser from WRCC.

There are three Hallmark levels:

  • Hallmark 1-Focuses on the management and administration of the hall.
  • Hallmark 2-Health, safety, security & licensing
  • Hallmark 3  Requires the hall to have a community and social awareness, with forward planning and communication being key.

Hallmark awards last for three years and need to renewed after that time.


Hallmark is a good health-check of your hall and your governing documents. We can help you prepare for your peer visits by providing advice and information on every step along the way.

The Charity Commission has endorsed Hallmark as part of the Commission’s Quality Standards Endorsement Programme and three insurance companies may offer a discount to community buildings that have achieved Hallmark.

Hallmark is supported by Warwickshire County Council, local authorities and the funding organisations WREN and Heart of England Community Foundation.  If you’re trying to attract funding from these bodies, you can use Hallmark accreditation to support your bid. Increasingly other funders are looking at Hallmark as being evidence of a good quality and well-run hall.

Please email Community Buildings for further information.